1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar


VEGETARIAN AND VEGAN WINES

Wine should be regarded as an additional ingredient in any given dish, complementing and enhancing it where possible and – key to success – not having any elements which clash.

HOW DO YOU KNOW IF A WINE IS VEGETARIAN OR VEGAN?

To know whether a wine is a vegetarian or vegan, you need to look at how the wine is clarified (or fined) to remove the solid particles that would otherwise make it cloudy. The substances used for this process can be derived from many sources, some of which come from fish and animal, some from dairy products and some from clay or synthetic substances. Certain producers do not fine their wines at all while some choose just to filter.

Strictly speaking, such substances are no longer found in the wine at all after clarification, but the fact that they have had contact with the liquid may be important to some people.

IF A WINE IS FINED WITH THE FOLLOWING, IT IS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS AND VEGANS:

  • Bentonite (clay base)
  • PVPP (polyvinylpolypyrolidone) – a synthetic substance
  • Use of tangential filter
  • No fining

IF A WINE IS FINED WITH THE FOLLOWING, IT IS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS BUT NOT FOR VEGANS:

  • Casein (milk)
  • Albumen (eggs)

IF A WINE IS FINED WITH THE FOLLOWING, IT IS NOT SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS OR VEGANS:

  • Gelatine Isinglass (fish swim bladder)
  • Blood! (not used generally anymore)



Hello. We use cookies on this website to help improve your experience. Carry on browsing to accept this, or find out more here