What makes a wine vegan-friendly?
It's all about how the wine is clarified (or fined) to remove the solid particles that would otherwise make it cloudy. The substances used for this process can be derived from many sources, some of which come from fish and animal, some from dairy products and some from clay or synthetic substances. Certain producers do not fine their wines at all while some choose just to filter.
Strictly speaking, such substances are no longer found in the wine at all after clarification, but the fact that they have had contact with the liquid may be important!
Wines fined with the following are suitable for vegans! Bentonite (clay base), PVPP - polyvinylpolypyrolidone (a synthetic substance), use of tangential filter or no fining at all! Still confused? Try some of our favourites ...
Available to buy
- Cabernet Sauvignon blend
- ABV 12.0%
2018 - 2019